Curriculum Overview

Got any questions about the curriculum? Get in touch

At Co-op Academy Brownhill we believe that all pupils can achieve and that our curriculum should assist them in developing a deep, secure understanding of a wide range of subjects and we place the highest expectations on all learners.

Our theme-based curriculum, using the Dimensions Curriculum scheme as a basis, has been adapted to meet the schools individual needs and aims to engage children in literature and the world around them; taking into account our school’s unique characteristics; school location, interests of the pupils and co-operative values. We follow this approach to learning in the belief that children learn best when logical connections are made between different aspects of their work.

Through our curriculum design we aim to provide children with new, real, rich and diverse opportunities through trips, guest speakers and residential, to consistently enhance their experiences and learning. Books are at the heart of the curriculum and the school uses the national curriculum to plan a bespoke English scheme which links reading and writing and provides a rich context in which to learn through.

At Co-op Academy Brownhill, it is our belief that every child should feel valued and experience the feeling of success in a wide range of curriculum areas. We, therefore, aim to value all subjects equally and celebrate successes within them.

Whilst all possible links are made to the dimension’s curriculum and the mathematics curriculum we currently deliver Maths through a framework developed by the White Rose Scheme of Work.

The National Curriculum, though at the centre of what is taught, is a framework and only a part of what we offer to children.  To ensure our pupils have all they need to succeed now and in the future, we place great importance on the teaching of the skills needed to be a successful learner, resilience, communication and independence and we strive to develop the whole child through the teaching of PHSE, the Co-op and British values.


‘Stages’ are used in schools to group years.

  • Foundation Stage – nursery and reception
  • Key Stage One –  years 1 and year 2
  • Key Stage Two – years 3, 4, 5 and 6


Our inclusive culture, policies and practices ensure that all children, no matter their background or ability, receive a great education. We ensure all lessons are differentiated for our children’s requirements such as; different capabilities, special educational needs and other requirements. Please see our SEND page for more information.

Curriculum Mapping